Fully Funded by Ministry of Education, Govt. of India

शिक्षा मंत्रालय, भारत सरकार द्वारा वित्त पोषित


Indian Institute of Information Technology and Management (IIITM) in Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh is an autonomous institute set by Government of India, MHRD (Presently Ministry of Education, Govt. of India) in 1997. It is an effort by MHRD (Presently Ministry of Education, Govt. of India) towards creating professionals in areas of management and information technology from the same institute. This institute was created for facilitating higher education, research, and consultancy in areas of information technology (IT) and business management. Initially started as IIITM, this institute was prefixed with ABV in 2002 to honour the then Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

The Beginning

The beginning of IIITM could be traced back to 1992, when MHRD (Presently Ministry of Education, Govt. of India) under Dr. P. G. Reddy contemplated setting up of advanced information systems in the likes of IIMs and IITs in different locations of India. Subsequently in 1995, Government of India based on a report prepared by AICTE (All India Council for Technical Education) comprising eminent academicians, policy makers, and professionals decided on establishing national centres focussed on IT and management training.  

PGDMIT (Post Graduate Diploma in Management and Information Technology) was the maiden course initiated in 1998 with thirty students, followed by PGDIT (Post Graduate Diploma in Information Technology) in 1999, and Ph.D. and 5-year Dual Post Graduate programs in 2000.


This essentially was the committee set up by MHRD (Presently Ministry of Education, Govt. of India) under Dr. P. G. Reddy to study the comprehensive situation of software education and its utilization in India. With the demand for skilled information technology and management professionals reaching several thousands, it became necessary to establish specialised management and IT institutes similar to IIMs and IITs to bridge the gap between manpower demand and supply.   


All pervasive growth of IT in India was triggered by Software Policy in 1986, Electronic Policy in 1985, and Computer Policy in 1984. These three policies in unison led to extensive use of computerised methods across different sectors of business, industries, and public administration thereby necessitating the need for competent professionals at different levels. Infrastructures like Internet, INDONET, NICNET, ERNET, and INFLIBNET were established for supporting this demand for widespread usage of computerised processes.


IIITM was set up as an autonomous institute under Societies Registration Act. This centrally funded body run by a Board of Governors aims at offering education, research, training, and consultancy in fields of management and IT in an integrated way.

Role of State Government

Supporting the cause of MHRD (Presently Ministry of Education, Govt. of India), Government of India in developing an integrated IT and management institute, Madhya Pradesh State Government offered nearly 61 hectares of land. This area on Morena Road and at the foothills of Gwalior fort is easily accessible from city airport and railway station.

List of Directors

  1. Prof. D.P. Agarwal - 08th October 1998 - 09th October 2003
  2. Prof. K. K. Bhattacharya - 10th October 2003 – 14th June 2004 (officiating)
  3. Prof. R.S. Sirohi - 15th June 2004 – 10th July 2004 (officiating)
  4. Prof. K. K. Bhattacharya - 11th July 2004 – 30th October 2005 (officiating)
  5. Prof. V. Seshadri - 31st October 2005 – 22nd January 2006 (officiating)
  6. Dr. Om Vikas  - 23rd January 2006 – 30th July 2007
  7. Dr. Deleep Kumar  - 31st July 2007 – 26th August 2007 (officiating)
  8. Prof. S.G. Dhande  - 27th August 2007 – 07th April 2008 (officiating)
  9. Prof. S.G. Deshmukh - 08th April 2008 - 31st July 2019
  10. Prof. Rajendra Sahu - 1st August 2019 - 07th April 2022 (Interim Director)
  11. Prof. Sri Niwas Singh - 08th April 2022 - Continuing

List of Chairmen

  1. Shri P.R. Dasgupta
  2. Shri M.K. Kaw
  3. Shri S.K. Tripathi
  4. Shri S.C. Tripathi
  5. Shri Sudeep Banerjee
  6. Dr. R.B. Baheti
  7. Dr. M.N. Buch
  8. Shri V.K. Modi
  9. Shri Deepak Ghaisas

Connect with us

ABV-Indian Institute of Information Technology and Management Gwalior, Morena Link Road, Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh, India,474015

  • dummy website@iiitm.ac.in
    (only for website related queries)

Search in Website